jeffcarnie

Welcome and thanks for stopping by!

He Will Carry You

Leave a comment

There is no problem too big God cannot solve it.
There is no mountain too tall He cannot move it.
And there is no storm too dark God cannot calm it.
There is no sorrow too deep He cannot soothe it.JesusCarryingyou

And if He carried the weight of the world upon His shoulders,
I know my brother that He will carry you.
And if He carried the weight of the world upon His shoulders,
I know my sister that He will carry you.

Lynda Randle

 
Some years ago in an attempt to get healthier, I joined a local gym. I would routinely get up at 4:00 a.m. each morning to do my work out before commuting one hour each way to the bay area for work. This particular morning was no different from the previous mornings, when I arrived at the gym, I felt especially good so I decided to do what is called a “drop set.” A drop set is when you progressively lessen the weight you are lifting.  I placed six 45 pound plates on the bar which is a total of 270 pounds. I cleared the bench, locked my arms and was able to complete five reps with ease. I was feeling really confident and pumped up so I decide against my better judgment to add weight instead of lowering the weight. I added two 25 plates to the bar, do the math I have just increased the weight to 320 pounds. I sat on the edge of the bench staring into the mirror attempting to psych myself out; I laid down on the bench, lifted the weight and quickly realized that this was different! Although I cleared the weight off the rack, and was able to bring it down to my chest, I was not able to push the weight all the way up to
re-rack it. In other words, I wasn’t able to complete the rep. There I was, all by myself with no spotter to assist me and not enough strength to clear the bar. I only had one option available to me, and that was to lay the weight across my chest and roll it down my body; so that’s what I did and man DID IT HURT!

I learned some valuable lessons that day, never lift heavy weights alone, always have a spotter; don’t attempt to lift more than you physically able. This is a life’s lesson, how often do we try to handle our problems by ourselves,
lifting/carrying the load of sin and despair alone. However we don’t have to go it alone, God is always there to do the power lifting for us. And when you fall or stumble He will be there to catch and even carry you!

Pastor Jeff Carnie

9:30 Worship Pastor

First Baptist Church

8939 East Stockton, Blvd.

Elk Grove, CA. 95624

www.fbceg.org

www.jeffcarnieandspectrum.com

Follow me on Twitter http://twitter.com/jeffcarnie

Like our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/JeffCarnieandSpectrum

 

Author: jeffcarnie

Worship Music professional, been in the business for over 30 years. Currently serving at First Baptist of Elk Grove, Ca. as the 9:30 Contemporary Worship Pastor.

Leave a Reply

